Is There a Right Way to Spring Break?

The past 3 years while attending Iona College I opted to stay home during spring break.

I already know what you’re thinking, “is she crazy?” or “does this girl not have a life?”Now I can definitely confirm I don’t have a life, but this isn’t the reason for not “partying like its 2007” when spring break rolls around.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-11285-1386612946-6_previewI would always have that anxiety creep in Friday before spring break thinking about all the assignments I have do and how in the world I am going to finish them. When now when I look back on it, I only had about 3 assignments.

In retrospect I had more than enough time to do my work, but factor in “me” time, a couple all nighters doing nothing and catching up on every show produced on MTV I was easily having a hard time fitting in my assignments.

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 11.04.48 PM.png

Now, I know I’m not the only student that opts to stay home during these 7 class free days. Why not kick back, stay in and binge watch every episode of the Vampire Diaries even though you’ve seen it 4 times. Spring Break is your time to do you, and to leave Blackboard open on your laptop to make yourself feel better. It’s not until Thursday comes around you start to question every decision you made during those beautiful 4 days of “me” time and wonder how you’re gonna finish all this work.

Fast forward to my last semester at Iona and I decided it was time for a change. Instead of staying home all day and procrastinating my work I decided to take a leap, and book a trip to Maui.

Although it cost me half my savings, which by the way isn’t much considering minimum wage is a dear friend of mine, it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

 

It was an 11 hour flight to get there and responsible Jennifer said “I’ll just do the work on the plane ride there”. Well, spoiler alert not a single piece of work was done, especially when your best friend is on the plane with you and she offers to play “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”.

GOPR0054.jpgHowever, not a single feeling of anxiety occurred. I found myself arriving to the island ready to take a break from college and enjoy the change in scenery. Many nights after being out on the beach all day I would sit back on the couch and get a little work done while enjoying the Hawaiian breeze.

What’s the point I’m trying to make?

Utilize spring break to your full advantage. Believe it or not you’ll get more work down outside of your house, rather than sitting with your computer on your lap while Food Network plays in the background.

This trip has taught me spring break isn’t for catching up on work because guess what? You’re most likely not going to do it. So stop clicking “next episode” on Netflix and book a trip to go somewhere during spring break.

Here are some tips if you don’t prefer to “live on the edge” and don’t enjoy having the anxiety of school work linger in your head:

  1. Do your work ahead of time. I know right, It’s a crazy thought that assignments can actually be done a week before they’re due. I know, I work my best when I’m doing it last minute but if you want to enjoy you spring break worry free, do it before you head to JFK or LaGuardia or the occasional Newark Airport.
  2. Take your work with you. If it makes you feel better knowing your laptop is sitting in your luggage as you make your way to the beach, then bring it along. Maybe a thesis for your paper hits you and while everyone is trying not to touch their sunburns you could conquer that history paper.
  3. If you’re worried about money, take advantage of the deals provided to us broke college students. Even websites such as ‘Student Universe‘ provide discounted plane tickets to students. While articles written by U.S. News list the cheapest places to travel during spring break.
  4. Most importantly have fun! It’s your spring break, the one week out of the entire year when school doesn’t matter and your parents aren’t pressuring you about that summer job.

Now grab and friend and get out of New York because no matter where you go your work will get done. At least you’ll have those awesome memories while you’re sitting home Sunday night doing your assignment due Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

